Daily Archives: February 1, 2010

Snippets: PostSecret and Val Kilmer

PostSecret

PostSecret

As someone who has been to Scotland (and experienced it to the fullest), I can tell you with complete and utmost honesty: no he’s not.

So anyway, the roomies and I finally watched Kiss Kiss Bang Bang today and I’m still in shock. Let’s add one more awesome point to the tally of how much Robert Downey Jr. kicks ass. I heard really great things about it before. That “oh it’s so underrated” jazz. It really, truly is. I’m just disappointed that it took me five years to actually watch it in its entirety.

The dialogue is fantastic and witty and lightning fast. So fast that actors talk all over each other (which adds to the hilarity) though, to be fair, it’s probably just Robert ad-libbing like usual. I don’t care. We laughed so hard for minutes at a time. Val Kilmer plays a totally atypical role, he won me back after years of just “bleh”. But then again, I’d probably be the person saying Willow was his best film (it was). It’s an updated film noir (without being campy), it’s too hilarious to even fathom, it’s completely unexpected at times, and it breaks the fourth wall within the first fifteen minutes. Rent it. If that doesn’t spark an interest…go watch Willow and then read this entry again.

-Estherocket